PDA

View Full Version : Just a few things to ponder...

bankerandrew
02-25-2011, 09:44 PM
First, I am very intrigued by this game... i only started playing beta a few weeks ago and so far I find the game to be what i have been looking for. At least in so much as what has been promised to come down the road. I havent been this interested in a sandbox since i played SWG way back in the day.

Few things that i have to say ruin my immersion a bit. The "lore" states that the world ends Jan 1 2012... but based on what i see in game in an area that is supposed to represent Lake Tahoe...

> where are the houses
> Where are the towns
> where are the ski lodges
> where are the ski lifts
> where is the destruction
> why is lake tahoe all of a sudden a big scrap pile
> when did tahoe become said scrap pile... and who bulldozed all the junk into nice heaps and piles

As of right now, i am not really sure i care, because when i log in i forget that this is supposed to be tahoe, because it isn't. I mean, seriously.. this is not Tahoe. Its a lake... could be any lake, in the middle of nowhere, because no one ever lived here before the apocalypse came.... its not even a ghost town, because you would need an empty town for that... its just.. empty...

now if it was a few million years into the future, i could probably understand, as there is plenty of time in between now and then for all the buildings to have been swept into neat junk piles... but its less than a year away from the current date.

now,, please do not tell me.. the game just started BS... cuz you can't add this type of stuff after the fact... it breaks immersion.... and it is after all heralded as a mmorpg.....as in role playing game...

and i am not bashing the game.. i have paid for and subbed... and will play at launch... game seems like fun... its just missing everything that makes it tahoe...a year from now.

/discuss

Malivius
02-25-2011, 09:54 PM