PDA

View Full Version : Server status page reads down at all times



Farmerbob
05-10-2010, 09:58 PM
Noticed earlier that the server status page wasn't accurate.

Poked and looked at the source which references images for dynamic content.

Parent Directory
UP_03.png
index_01.png
index_02.png
index_03.png
index_04.png
spacer.gif

Gabriel, it appears as if someone has hacked your page and removed the ability of the page to display the UP_03.png file. It now permanently reads down.

I'd like to think anyway that it was hacked, and not done deliberately :dry:

**************

<html>
<head>
<title>Xsyon Server Status</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<style type="text/css">
body {
background-color: #000;
}

body,td,th {
color: #333;
}
</style></head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<div align="center">




<table id="Table_01" width="1024" height="768" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td>
<img src="images/index_01.png" width="1024" height="370" alt=""></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<img src="images/index_02.png" width="1024" height="84" alt=""></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<img src="images/index_03.png" width="1024" height="95" alt=""></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<img src="images/index_04.png" width="1024" height="219" alt=""></td>
</tr>
</table>
<font size="-4"> All rights reserved. Page Created by Gabriel of Bad As Can. Images copyright of Notorious Games LLC.</font>
</div>
</body>

</html> :dry:

Diocletian
05-10-2010, 10:00 PM
Its a PHP page, you don't get the code that checks the server is up client side that way :lol:

Farmerbob
05-10-2010, 10:09 PM
Diocletian wrote:

Its a PHP page, you don't get the code that checks the server is up client side that way :lol:

That may be so, however the site is still inaccurate, and always indicates the server is down. The visible code does not even mention the file which might display the "up" status (UP_03.png).

Spitfire5
05-10-2010, 10:11 PM
It will be up soon.

Diocletian
05-10-2010, 10:13 PM
I have had the site read up every once in a while, but the mechanism it uses will probably need some tweaking do to the change in the server.

On the other hand, the page source will always reflect what is displayed. So if it did display "UP" the source will replace the appropriate index.png with the up.png. PHP allows the web server to dynamically generate a static page. So you wont see the effects of a change until the page is refreshed and the cache clears.

Farmerbob
05-10-2010, 10:26 PM
Diocletian wrote:

I have had the site read up every once in a while, but the mechanism it uses will probably need some tweaking do to the change in the server.

On the other hand, the page source will always reflect what is displayed. So if it did display "UP" the source will replace the appropriate index.png with the up.png. PHP allows the web server to dynamically generate a static page. So you wont see the effects of a change until the page is refreshed and the cache clears.

Ah, I see. Makes sense I suppose. I haven't coded in 20+ years so I was looking at the code through the eyes of a Fortran/Pascal coder, and seeing no decision subroutines. I figured the server status code was elsewhere, but wasn't thinking that the page code might be generated on the fly.

Learned something interesting today, thanks :)

Virtus
05-10-2010, 11:34 PM
they had code that long ago? :P

Xsyon
05-10-2010, 11:47 PM
they had code that long ago?

Hey, I was messing with Pascal back then too. ;)

kiwibird
05-10-2010, 11:51 PM
You and Pascal aye? Lucky girl.... Yes I know its a form of computer language, but still.

Virtus
05-11-2010, 01:04 AM
Xsyon wrote:


they had code that long ago?

Hey, I was messing with Pascal back then too. ;)

now we are really aging things...

*goes into hiding for a few days*

Sabina
05-11-2010, 03:16 AM
Umm yep they did, I was messing around with Fortran and Pascal back in the day :blush: