Ideas for tunneling and moving earth.

Firstly i'm no programmer, and i don't know how much easier this method would be to implement. This is just my thoughts on tunneling.

I've read a few posts about creating tunnels or mines, and the consensus seems to be it would take a large amount of work to implement. From what i understand, terraforming land involves raising or lowering the playing field. The current game mechanics don't allow for horizontal distortions.

So what if we were just able to designate an area to warp? What i propose is that if we want to dig into a mountain side or cliff we designate a specific area, in a similar fashion to how buildings are constructed. Within that area you can dig horizontal, into the mountain. Think of it like building a door, except your putting that door onto the mountain and you dig into that door. From there, players can expand the space inside the "tunnel" in all directions. A simple idea on how to "tunnel" would be to dig in the direction the avatar is facing. To dig down, the terraforming skill mechanics could be used.

For realism, every time a character "digs" and widens the space inside the tunnel. soil, rocks, minerals etc are added to the materials carried on hand (similar to how logs are carried around on your back). The model that shows on the players back could be a sack (that may need to be equipped). "Earth" that was excavated would have to be put somewhere, so it gives the player more challenge with dealing with endurance. If you just dump the "earth" inside your cave you create mounds similar to terraforming a hill. Precious materials like gems can be deposited into players bags automatically. Also for added challenge, support beams must be placed periodically. Otherwise you face being caved in. Im not sure how light will be dealt with in the tunnels, but the idea is that the farther you are from the entrance the less illuminated the area you are is. So creating torches and other light sources are needed.